If you're having trouble viewing this email, you may see it online

April 29, 2019

Dear Conservation Leaders,

NACD is pleased to announce today approval of the first round of 2019 NACD technical assistance grants, which we are delivering in partnership with the Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS).

We had an overwhelming response to our January request for proposals due on Mar. 1, 2019. Because the number of dollars requested for the three available programs was so large, we have been able to secure an additional $1 million of Environmental Quality Incentives Program (EQIP) funds from NRCS. We have also worked with applicants to shift some of the requested funds to the Conservation Stewardship Program (CSP) workload.

With today's announcement, NACD and NRCS will fund most of the renewal requests that received a high priority in their respective states. In this round of funding, NACD and NRCS have funded nearly 150 positions in 39 states and two territories, including four positions in two tribal conservation districts.

  • Alabama: Lawrence County CD, Barbour County CD
  • Alaska: Homer SWCD
  • Arizona: Apache NRCD, Big Sandy NRCD, Triangle/Chino Winds NRCD
  • Arkansas: Izard County CD, Fulton County CD, Sebastian County CD, Arkansas RC&DC, Carroll County CD, Arkansas Association of Conservation Districts
  • California: Amador RCD, Gold Ridge RCD
  • Colorado: Washington County CD, Cope CD, NE Prowers CD, Baca County CD, Morgan CD, Delta CD, Shavano CD, San Juan CD, Big Thompson CD, Boulder Valley CD, Longmont CD
  • Delaware: Sussex CD
  • Florida: Suwannee County CD
  • Georgia: Georgia Association of Conservation Districts
  • Guam: Southern Guam SWCD
  • Hawaii: Hawaii Association of Conservation Districts
  • Idaho: Butte SWCD, Bruneau River SCD, Twin Falls SWCD
  • Illinois: Hamilton County SWCD, White County SWCD, Alexander SWCD, Pulaski SWCD, Union SWCD, DeWitt SWCD, Piatt SWCD, Macon SWCD
  • Indiana: Allen County SWCD, Washington County SWCD
  • Iowa: Buena Vista SWCD, Madison SWCD, Howard SWCD, Van Buren SWCD, Dubuque SWCD, Marion CD, Clarke SWCD
  • Kansas: Kansas Association of Conservation Districts
  • Kentucky: Hopkins County CD, Fleming County CD
  • Louisiana: St. Landry/Acadia SWCD, Morehouse SWCD
  • Maryland: Dorchester SCD, Talbot SCD, St. Mary's SCD
  • Michigan: Kent CD, Montcalm CD, Lapeer CD
  • Minnesota: Becker SWCD, Southwest Prairie Technical Service Area (a joint powers agreement between 11 districts)
  • Mississippi: Humphreys County SWCD, Coahoma County SWCD, Hinds County SWCD, Mississippi Association of Conservation Districts
  • Missouri: Stoddard County SWCD, Carroll County SWCD, Polk County SWCD
  • Montana: Lake County CD, Meagher County CD, Choteau County CD, Blackfeet NRD, Chippewa-Cree (Rocky Boy's Reservation)
  • Nebraska: Lewis & Clark NRD; Lower Niobrara NRD; Lower Platte South NRD; Lower Big Blue NRD; Middle Niobrara NRD
  • New Jersey: Morris County SCD, Cape Atlantic SCD
  • New Mexico: New Mexico Association of Conservation Districts
  • North Carolina: Duplin County SWCD, Surry SWCD, Wake SWCD, N.C. Division of Soil and Water Conservation
  • Ohio: Adams SWCD, Brown SWCD, Pike SWCD, Scioto SWCD
  • Oklahoma: Oklahoma County CD
  • Oregon: Wallowa SWCD
  • Pennsylvania: Lehigh County CD, Tioga County Cd, Northumberland County CD, Jefferson County CD
  • Puerto Rico: Caribe CD, Distrito de Conservacio de Suelos y Aguas del Suroeste, Puerto Rico Association of SWCDs, Oeste SWCD
  • Rhode Island: Rhode Island Association of Conservation Districts
  • South Carolina: Barnwell CD, Horry CD, Orangeburg CD, Clarendon CD
  • Tennessee: Blount County SCD, Claiborne County SCD, Smith County SCD, Washington County SCD, Wilson County SCD
  • Texas: Texas State Soil and Water Conservation Board
  • Vermont: Vermont Association of Conservation Districts
  • Washington: Grant County CD, Kittitas County CD, Palouse-Rock Lake CD
  • Wisconsin: Green County LWCD; Marathon County CD; Glacierland RC&DC; Grant County Conservation, Sanitation and Zoning Department; Dane County Land and Water Resources Department
  • Wyoming: Lingle Ft. Laramie CD

All requests will be funded on a one-year basis. Since we understand the desire to have certainty of funds for a longer period, we are providing language in the memoranda of agreement (MOAs) for longer agreements, should funds become available.

MOAs will begin to be distributed this week to the renewal applicants in order to initiate the award process. About 70 percent of the NACD and NRCS agreement funds will be used for renewals. The remainder of the funds, primarily for CSP and Conservation Operations Technical Assistance (COTA) will be provided to new applicants. In the coming weeks, we will follow up with awards to as many new applicants as we have funds, based on the priorities established by state partners. We will hold all applications that are not funded for consideration in a future round of funding, and we will notify all applicants that do not receive an award.

Please feel free to reach out to NACD staff with questions or consult the NACD website for details.

Jeremy Peters
Chief Executive Officer
National Association of Conservation Districts

This email was sent to ariel-rivers@nacdnet.org. To ensure that you continue receiving our emails, please add our email to your address book or safe list.
To unsubscribe from future mailings please click here
Powered By Z2 Systems, Inc.